Human Skeleton: Types and Overview

The overall parts of the human skeleton are the following:

Overview of a human skull

It is a type of flat bone. It is very hard. It covers the brain. Skull is divided into the following parts.

  • Frontal bone 
  • Temporal bone
  • Mandible
  • Zygomatic bone
  • Nasal bone
  • Maxilla bone
  • Lacrimal bone
  • Parietal bone
  • Ethmoid bone
  • Sphenoid bone

Overview of the upper limb

It consists of three main parts:
(a) Forearm
(b) Arm
(c) Hand


i. It starts from the scapula and ended t elbow joint.
ii. It consists of a single long bone which is known as humerus.
iii. The humerus is a long bone in the upper limb.


The next part consists of two bones:
(a) 1-Radius
(b) 1-Ulna
It is a larger bone in this region. It is opposite to the radius is known as ulna. At the start of the hand, there are 8 little bones which are known as carpals. Then 5 metacarpals are present after that 14 phalanges are present.


A hand is the slice or part of the body positioned/located at the end of an arm. Most humans have two hands. Every hand mostly has four fingers and a thumb. On the inside of the hand is the palm. The five bones inside this part of the hand are known as metacarpals.

Overview of lower limb

The lower limb consists of the thighbone, leg, knee, and foot.


It is the upper portion in the upper limb in which there is a single leg bone which is known as the femur. The femur starts from the pelvic girdle to the knee. It is a large bone of the lower limb.


Technically it starts from knee to ankle. It consists of two bones which are known as tibia and fibula. Tibia is attached to the nearest to the medial line. The fibula is away from the medial line. Tibia is a large bone and bears the whole of the wright. The fibula is small. It is attached to muscles.

Patella/Knee cap

It is also known as a knee cap. It connects femur and tibia, its bone is somewhat like a triangular shape or sesamoid bone.


It consists of the following bone:
(i) 7 Tarsal(ii),          5 Metatarsal(iii),          14 Phalanges


It is also known as the backbone. It consists of 33 irregular bones. These bones are classified into 5 different regions.
1. C1___C7         (cervical region)
2. T1___T12       (thoracic region)
3. L1___L5         (lumbar region)
4. S1___S5          (sacrum region)
5. Coccyx___4    (coccyx region)
i) The first seven vertebrae are known as cervical vertebrae. It helps for flexibility in work.
ii) The next twelve vertebras are considered as a thoracic vertebra.
iii) The next consists of 5 vertebrae are known as lumbar these ones the large bone is the whole vertebral column.
iv) It also supports the body. Back Muscles are mostly attached here.
Sacral region: It consists of 5 bones these are fused to each other to form a single bone shape.
Coccyx Vertebrae: It consists of 4 vertebrae these ones also tail vertebra. Many muscles are also connecting to it.
Anatomy of pelvic region: It is also known as the hipbone. It consists of two coxal (hip) bones. This coxal bone is also known as ossa bone. It childhood this coxal bone is divided into three parts.
(a) Ileum and second part
(b) Ischium and the third part
(c) Pubic bone

In an adult, these three bones are finely fused form a single bone. In the backside, these two bones are connected to the sacrum. In front, it is connected with the help of muscle to pubic fossa. In man, ileum crest is very compact and the distance between them is narrow, in woman, ileum crest is delicate and distance between then is wider.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *