Anatomy of the Urinary System

Anatomy of the Urinary System

It is a set of organs producing urine in human beings, formed chiefly of the kidneys, ureters, bladder, and urethra. The main organs of the urinary system are the kidney, which forms urine.

The other parts of the system the ureters, the urinary bladder, and the urethra neither form pee (urine) nor change its structure. They are only structures that transfer urine from the kidneys to the outside of the body.

The urinary system consists of the following organs:

  1. Kidney
  2. Ureters
  3. Bladder
  4. Urethra
  5. Nephron (basic structural and functional unit of the kidney)

Kidney: Kidney is pair of excretory organs situated on the posterior abdominal wall, on each side of the vertebral column behind the peritoneum (extending from the last thoracic vertebra to 3rd lumbar vertebra)
The kidney is located mainly in the lumbar region.
Cortex: The outer zone of the kidney is known as the cortex.
Medulla: The inner zone of the kidney is known as the medulla.
Pyramids: Pyramids contain straight collecting tubes.
Nephron: It is the basic structural and functional unit of the kidney capable of forming urine. Both kidneys contain 2.4 million nephrons.

Parts of Nephrons

  1. Glomerulus
  2. Renal Tubules
  3. Bowman’s capsule
  4. Proximal convoluted tubule
  5. Loop of Henle (ascending and descending)
  6. Distal convulated tubule
  7. Collecting tubule

Ureters: It transfers the pee (urine) from the kidney to the bladder.
Bladder: This acts as a reservoir of urine.
Urethra: For discharge of urine from the bladder.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *